Last week, we learned about the Manipura Chakra, The Solar Plexus Chakra. This week, we learn about The Anahata Chakra, The Heart Chakra.  The fourth of the main chakras.

The Anahata Chakra, The Heart Chakra
The Anahata chakra, also known as the heart chakra, is the fourth primary chakra according to various Eastern spiritual traditions. In Sanskrit, ‘Anahata’ means ‘unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten’, symbolizing a pure state of consciousness and inner tranquility. Located at the center of the chest, near the heart, it acts as the individual’s center of compassion, empathy, love, and forgiveness.

Areas of the Body
The Anahata chakra is located at the center of the chest, it is not aligned with the physical heart but rather the heart region in the subtle body. This chakra is associated with the color green, which signifies transformation and love energy. The heart chakra is intimately linked to emotions such as love, compassion, empathy, and forgiveness. Physiologically, it is connected to the heart, lungs, and thymus gland, influencing the circulatory system and respiratory health.

The element associated with the Anahata is air, which represents freedom, expansion, and the breath of life. Air signifies an open heart and the ability to love without constraints. This chakra is visualized as a lotus flower with twelve petals and is the central point of balance in the body, connecting the lower chakras with the upper ones. It governs our ability to love unconditionally and to heal, both emotionally and physically.

Sounds and Mantras
The seed mantra for the Anahata chakra is “YAM,” which is chanted to activate and balance this energy center. In meditation and sound healing practices, the Anahata chakra is often engaged through the use of specific frequencies, such as 639 Hz, which is believed to encourage feelings of harmony and emotional balance. The sounds associated with this chakra can include the deep resonance of Tibetan singing bowls, the clear tones of crystal bowls, or the gentle sound of wind chimes. Each of these sounds aims to facilitate a state of openness and healing, where one can experience the ‘unstruck’ or ‘unbeaten’ sound—the pure, calm sound that emanates from a place of silence and represents the essence of the Anahata chakra.

Foods and Herbs
To nourish and balance the Anahata chakra, it is suggested to consume foods that are green in color, such as kale, broccoli, spinach, kiwi, and avocado, as well as airy or leafy vegetables. These foods are believed to enhance the energy flow through the heart chakra. Herbs and spices that may benefit the Anahata include hawthorne berry, jasmine, rose, basil, chamomile, sage, marjoram, thyme, and parsley. These are thought to energize and heal any imbalances in the heart chakra and are beneficial for both the mind and body. Additionally, warm foods and “comfort foods” are also recommended for this chakra, as they can promote a sense of well-being and harmony.

Crystals are often used to enhance or balance the energy of the chakras. For the Anahata, specific stones are believed to resonate with its frequency, aiding in healing emotional wounds and promoting love and compassion. Some of the most commonly used crystals include Rose Quartz, known for its gentle energy of love and healing; Green Aventurine, which brings prosperity and encourages a sense of well-being; Jade, a stone of serenity and purity; Emerald, which enhances unity and unconditional love; Rhodonite, for emotional healing; and Malachite, known for its transformational properties.

These crystals can be used in various ways, such as wearing them as jewelry, placing them over the heart chakra during meditation, or simply keeping them in one’s environment. Each crystal has its unique vibrational energy that can help to dissolve negative emotions, foster self-love, and encourage an open-hearted approach to life.

Essential Oils
Essential oils are often used in aromatherapy to support the opening and balancing of this chakra. Lavender oil, for instance, is known for reducing anxiety and improving sleep quality, which can help in calming the heart and promoting a sense of peace. Rose oil is another popular choice for the Anahata chakra as it is believed to open up the heart and release pent-up emotions. It is believed that essential oils like neroli and eucalyptus can support the heart chakra by promoting a sense of balance and well-being. Neroli oil is known for its ability to foster trust, warmth, and a sense of calmness, potentially aiding in the release of pent-up emotions. Eucalyptus oil, with its clear, sharp aroma, is thought to help clear the mind and reduce inflammation, which can be beneficial for maintaining an open and balanced heart chakra. Similarly, ylang-ylang oil has calming properties that can uplift the mood and enhance emotional well-being. These oils can be used in various ways, including diffusers, topical application when diluted with a carrier oil, or during meditation and yoga practices to enhance the connection with the Anahata chakra.

Signs of Imbalance
A blocked Anahata chakra can manifest as emotional problems like over-dependence on others, jealousy, abandonment, anger, and fear of intimacy. Physically, it may lead to issues like poor circulation, high or low blood pressure, and other heart-related problems.

An imbalance in the Anahata chakra can manifest in various ways. Physically, it may lead to issues like heart and lung problems, poor circulation, high or low blood pressure, and respiratory or breathing difficulties. Emotionally, an imbalance might present as feelings of jealousy, possessiveness, fear of intimacy, or challenges in relationships.

People might struggle with self-acceptance, exhibit a lack of empathy, or have difficulty forgiving others. They may also experience a sense of disconnection from nature and the people around them.

Balancing the Chakra
To restore balance to the Anahata chakra, practices such as specific yoga poses, meditation, and pranayama (breath work), focused on love and compassion can be beneficial. Engaging in activities that foster a sense of connection and unconditional love, such as volunteering or caring for others, can also help heal this chakra. Visualization of the color green and spending time in nature can help to heal and open the heart chakra. It’s important to address both the physical and emotional signs of imbalance to fully restore harmony to the Anahata chakra.

Understanding and working with the heart chakra can lead to a profound sense of connectedness, love, and a harmonious balance between the physical and spiritual aspects of life. It is a journey towards unlocking the deep and profound truths that lie within each individual.

How Reiki Energy Healing can benefit the Anahata Chakra
Reiki Energy Healing is a practice that involves the channeling of universal life energy to promote balance and healing within the body. When Reiki is applied to the Anahata chakra, it can help to balance the energy flow, which is essential for maintaining emotional equilibrium and fostering feelings of love and connection. This healing process can release emotional blockages, potentially leading to improved relationships and increased empathy and forgiveness. Additionally, a balanced Anahata chakra can enhance one’s capacity to give and receive love unconditionally, promoting overall emotional and spiritual health.

See you next week!